Connect Las Vegas Mobile Tours

Connect Las Vegas NM: Mobile Visitors Guide to Historic Sites" is available to download at the following locations:

Google (Android) Download

Apple Download

Exercise Your Right to Vote - November 2, 2021

Ballot Box

San Miguel County candidates file for November election

Published on

Several races will be contested in the upcoming November election, as candidates for open school board positions in Las Vegas, and municipal positions in Pecos officially filed on Tuesday. 

All open positions on both the Las Vegas City Schools and West Las Vegas Schools boards will be contested this election cycle. 

Position 1 on the Las Vegas City Schools Board will be between incumbent Leroy Lujan and challenger David Remi Cordova. Position 2 on the LVCS Board will be between Donald Garcia and Michael Quintana, neither of whom currently serve on the board. Gabriel Lucero, who currently serves on the board, did not file for re-election. 

The other three positions on the board, currently held by Rick Armijo, Robert Duran and Dennis Romero, are not up for grabs, as they were elected in 2019.  

In West Las Vegas, Position 4 on the board will be a contest between incumbent Christine Ludi, who is currently the board’s vice president, and challenger Joe Gallegos. Position 5 will be a contest between incumbent Linda Montoya and challenger Carla Benvidez. 

Much like LVCS, the other three positions, held by Patrick Marquez, Manuel Lucero and Rolando Medrano Jr., are not available, as they were elected in 2019. 

In the other positions available in the education sector there will be no competition. Mark Dominguez and Gilbert Sena are running unopposed as incumbents for their seats on the Luna Community College Board of Trustees, while Harold J. Garcia and Grady Barrens are running unopposed for their incumbent positions on the Pecos Independent School District Board. 

The other contested positions come from the Village of Pecos, where the race for mayor and one of the village’s trustee seats are up for grabs. 

In the mayoral race, incumbent Telesfor “Ted” Benavidez will take on challenger Jennifer Guhl. For Trustee Position 4, incumbent Armando Gabaldon will go against challenger Colleen Cunningham. 

The general election will take place on Tuesday, Nov. 2. 


  • West Las Vegas High School “Gillie Lopez” Gymnasium 157 Moreno St., Las Vegas, New Mexico 87701

  • Robertson High School “Mike Marr” Gymnasium 1240 5th St. Las Vegas, New Mexico 87701

  • Valley Jr. High School Gymnasium
    85 N.M. Highway 484, Ribera, New Mexico 87560

  • Pecos High School Gymnasium
    24 Panther Parkway, Pecos, New Mexico 87552


  • PCT. 9 – Rociada Fire Station

    278 NM Hwy. 104, Rociada, New Mexico 87742

  • PCT. 10 – Mike Mateo Elementary School

    #12 CR A-1, Sapello, New Mexico 87745

  • PCT. 13A – Bernal Community Center

    26 CR B28A, Serafina, New Mexico 87569

  • PCT. 13B – Tecolote Community Center

    91 CR B47A, Las Vegas, New Mexico 87701

  • PCT. 14A – Trujillo School House

    42 CR C51A, Las Vegas, New Mexico 87701

  • PCT. 14B – Trementina Fire Station

    9 NM Hwy. 419, Trementina, New Mexico 88439

  • PCT. 15 – Conchas Fire Station

    101 Big Mesa Ave., Conchas Dam, New Mexico 88416

  • PCT. 16 – Sheridan Fire Station

    3327 Frontage Rd. 2116, New Mexico 87701

  • PCT. 17 – Home of Felipe Tenorio

    HC 67 Box 46, Anton Chico, New Mexico87711

  • PCT. 21 – San Juan Community Center

    121 CR B41A, San Juan, New Mexico 87565

Absentee and Early Voting Sites

  • San Miguel County Clerk’s Office
    500 West National Ave. Suite 113, Las Vegas, NM 87701

  • San Miguel Senior Citizens Center (Alternate Site) MM 70 Hwy. 3, Ribera, NM 87560

If you are unsure of your polling location, please contact the County Clerks Office at (505) 425-9331